Back to the Basics

photo-3

Let’s start at the beginning. Let’s define the word understand.

un-der-stand: verb 1. To perceive and comprehend the nature and significance of.  2. To know thoroughly through close contact with or long experience of. 3. a.  To grasp what is intended or expressed by another. b. to comprehend the meaning of. 4. To know and be tolerant or sympathetic toward. 5. To learn indirectly, as by hearsay. 6. To conclude: infer. 7. To accept as an agreed fact. -vi. 1.To have understanding, knowledge, or comprehension.  2. To learn indirectly or at second-hand. *

*Excerpt directly from Thumb-Indexed Webster’s II New Riverside University Dictionary; The Riverside Publishing Company, 1984, 1988, 1994

This was a really interesting exploration for me. Looking at the different meanings of the word understand helped me to, well, understand. It seemed to further clarify the areas I am hoping to grow in.

Let’s look at 6. To conclude, infer. Well, this is where I feel I often go, concluding and inferring throughout the world. Many times, I then learn that in fact the situation or story or facts are much different than I had assumed or inferred. This is the crux of my one word journey.

Let’s consider the 3. a.  To grasp what is intended or expressed by another. -This is what I am hoping to learn to more naturally go to as my “jump off point”. I envision myself clearing my mind of any preconceived notions, and just taking in what is before me. Not judging, or guessing, or filling in the blanks, or assuming, or elaborating in my head. Just being in the moment, with what is before me. I imagine listening with an open mind, waiting for the details to be expressed and expanded upon by the person or situation before me. Oh, there are certainly times that I can see that I do this. What I am interested in is having this be my main “jumping off point”.

Let’s look at 7. To accept as an agreed fact. This is a nice middle ground, allowing for communication to be a two way flowing street. One party expresses while the other listens openly.  Then, there is an implicit mutual understanding  about what was shared.

This feels like I have gone off on a intellectual tangent, which is far from my desire. I guess beginning with an excerpt from the dictionary might send one in this direction.  Bottom line, seeing the various meanings of the word understand spotlighted the shades of gray for me. Going forward, I will be looking into more real life applications and learning moments in my own life.

Until next time,

Robin

Leave a comment